Seaboard Zionist Region Sessions Begin Sunday
Menu JTA Search

Seaboard Zionist Region Sessions Begin Sunday

Download PDF for this date

The eleventh annual conference of the Seaboard Zionist Region will begin here Sunday with more than three hundred and fifty delegates expected from Maryland, Virginia, District of Columbia, and North and South Carolina, Morris Rothenberg, president of the Zionist Organization of America, will be the principal speaker at the sessions. Preparations have been made by the Norfolk Association of Commerce to provide a welcome for the Zionist visitors.

Among those who will take part in the program of the conference are Rabbi Alex Steinbach, Norfolk; S. Finestone, president of the Norfolk Zionists; Mrs. Philip Kroskin, Norfolk Hadassah President, and Miss Lee Straus, for Norfolk Junior Hadassah. Rabbi Edward L. Israel, Baltimore, president of the region, will review Zionist activities within the territory during the past year. Others listed include H. L. Caplan, Israel Silberstein, Simon Land, Baltimore; Isidore Hirshfield, Louis E. Spiegler, Washington; Harry T. Kellman, honorary president of the Seaboard Zionist Region, and Daniel Ellison, Baltimore; Rabbi Joseph E. Raffaeli, Richmond; Dr. S. Barsel, Portsmouth.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund