B’nai Brith District One Holds Annual Convention
Menu JTA Search

B’nai Brith District One Holds Annual Convention

Download PDF for this date

Frank Goldman, of Lowell, Mass., was elected president of B’nai Brith, District One, which comprises New England, New York and eastern Canada, at the 81st annual convention here. Governor Wilbur Cross, of Connecticut, addressed the delegates at the banquet held in connection with the convention.

Speaking on current events in Germany, Governor Cross said, “there was no more impressive commentary on what happened than that Germany should repudiate Einstein, the greatest scientist since Isaac Newton.”

Other officers elected were: Horace Cohen, of Montreal, first vice-president; Charles Horowitz, of New York, second vice-president; Wilfred D. Feiga, of Worcester, Mass., third vice-president; William B. Asher, of New York, treasurer, and Lawrence White, of New York, secretary. Joshua Kantrowicz, of New York, was elected chairman of the board of governors of the home at Yonkers, N. Y.

The council of Women’s Auxiliary Lodges, of District One, elected Mrs. Lillian Nathan, of Sprnigfield, Mass., as president; Miss Fannie Klein, of New York, first vice-president; Mrs. Harriet Schwartz, of New London, second vice-president; Mrs. Ray Pyser, of Springfield, secretary; Mrs. Frances Winer, of Boston, treasurer; and Mrs. Miriam J. Goldberg, of Boston, monitress.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund