Prominent Leaders Join Eddy Dinner Committee
Menu JTA Search

Prominent Leaders Join Eddy Dinner Committee

Download PDF for this date

The only American who had the courage of his convictions and dared to openly criticize the Nazis in Berlin for their treatment of Jews, Liberals and Socialists, Sherwood Eddy, author and lecturer and former secretary for Asia of the Y.M.C.A., will be tendered a dinner sponsored by the Jewish Daily Bulletin on October 17 at the Hotel Commodore.

Among those who have been added to the rapidly-growing dinner committee, which already includes Rev. Harry Emerson Fosdick, Mary E. Woolley of Mt. Holyoke College and other prominent representatives of politics, business and the professions, are: Dr. James T. Shotwell of Columbia University; Rev. S. Parkes Cadman, George Gordon Battle, Dr. Samuel McCrea, general secretary of the Federal Council of the Churches of Christ in America; Dr. I. Newman, Peter Wiernik, of the Jewish Morning Journal; Morris D. Waldman, of the American Jewish Committee; Alexander S. Banks, Jacob Aronson, Harry Schneiderman, of the American Jewish Committee, and Laurence N. Levine.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund