Philadelphia Jewish Writers Form Union
Menu JTA Search

Philadelphia Jewish Writers Form Union

Download PDF for this date

Philadelphia Jewish writers yesterday received a charter as Newspaper Writers Union Local 1924 from the American Federation of Labor.

The charter was presented at a luncheon by Joseph Ritchie, an organizer of the American Federation of Labor. The gathering was addressed by the veteran Jewish journalist, M. Katz, and by S. Regensberg, president of the union. The following guests also spoke: Adolph Hirshberg, president of the central labor union, John Lee, treasurer of the Philadelphia Newspaper Guild Sam Lipshitz, chairman of the Jewish Compositors, and others. Telegrams were received from Dr. L. Fogelman, president of the Peretz Farein, and Elias Reisberg, Philadelphia president of the International Ladies’ Germent Workers’ Union.

The officers of the newly-formed newspaper writers’ union are S. Regensberg, president, N. Kravitz. secretary and H. Vichnin, treasurer.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund