Many Paterson Jews Become Committeemen
Menu JTA Search

Many Paterson Jews Become Committeemen

Download PDF for this date

Complete official election results for county committee members in this city were announced yesterday. Jews elected included:

Democrats: Bertha Ackerman, William Schwarz, Martin Reines, Anne Kwait, Myrna Yedwab, Samuel Hochman, Samuel Moskowitz, Bess Moskowitz, David Laderman, Anne Lefkowitz, Eli Nochimson, Jacob Goldfarb, Jacob Weintraub, Helen Weintraub, Louis M. Berliner, Sadie Simon, Charles H. Roemer, Rose Roemer, Sidney Schanker, Herman D. Edetson, Diana Behrman, Jack Attschuler, Daisy Greenberg and Sol Thieberg.

Republicans: Max Shoger, Samuel Miller, Bertha Moskowitz, Harold B. Bloch, Julius F. Schwartz, Max Rosenthal, Abraham Wolf, Mortimer L. Mahler, David Rothman Tillie L. Suraskie, Louis Finaly, Sara Piekarsky and Isadore Shepps.

In the fourth ward of the city, a Jewish stronghold, ten Democrats and five Republicans were selected.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund