Port Chester Jews Push Appeal Drive
Menu JTA Search

Port Chester Jews Push Appeal Drive

Download PDF for this date

With a quota of $1,500 as the goal, the Jewish community of Port Chester planned its campaign for the United Jewish Appeal at a meeting in the home of Oscar Kirshon. It was decided to meet again tomorrow evening at the Jewish Community Center.

Mrs. William Dick Sporberg will preside, and Dr. Jacob Sonderling will be the principal speaker.

The following are officers: I. Miller, president; J. M. Rosen, chairman; Mrs. Morris Ratner, treasurer; Mrs. Jacob Gordon, publicity chairman; Louis M. Shanok, campaign secretary.

Executive committee members include Ralph Becker, Rabbi E. D. Berl, David Berman, Henry Fisher, Mrs. George Goldowitz, Abraham Goldman, Maurice Jacob, Mrs. Nathan Kaiser, Mrs. Oscar Kirshon, Morris Levine, Dr. Max Marshall, Mrs. M. J. Newman, Morris Panken, Irving Saltman, Morris Shiffman, and Mrs., Wm. D. Sporberg.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund