Fleet Officers Guests at Cruise Dance of Junior Jewish Appeal
Menu JTA Search

Fleet Officers Guests at Cruise Dance of Junior Jewish Appeal

Download PDF for this date

Fifty officers of the United States fleet will be guests of honor at the cruise-dance that will be held on Sunday evening, June 17, at the Hotel Astor, as part of the ceremonies planned to mark the departure of the fleet from New York harbor. The dance, which will have a completely nautical setting, is sponsored by the Junior Division of the United Jewish Appeal as its principal function in raising funds for the relief of German Jews.

The dance committee, headed by Adele I. Springer and Maurice R. Whitebook as co-chairman, will meet tonight at the Hotel Commodore to make final arrangements for the function. Members of the committee are:

Carlos L. Israels, Leona J. Herrmann, Morris Berger, Robert Berns, Rose Levenson, Oscar Merber, Martin Biernbach, Pay Blatzer, Magda Fogel, George Goldner, Leonard Belford, Abe Bloom, Irwin Ciner, Muriel Jaret, Caroline D. Munter, Marion Goldstein, S. Martin Adelman, Rita Warschauer, Martha Jacobson, Morris Kikoler, Frances Becker, Frances Grossman, Dora Kahn and Ryva Roberts.


Sidney Hillman, general president of the Amalgamated Clothing Workers of America, has sent to the officers of the United Jewish Appeal a strong endorsement of that effort to raise funds in this country for the aid of German Jewry.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund