Menu JTA Search

Paterson News

Download PDF for this date

Paterson Lodge of B’nai B’rith has inaugured a membership drive in conjunction with B’nai B’rith lodges throughout the country. The national quota set is 25,000 members, and the local lodge plans to bring its share into the B’nai B’rith fold.

The drive, which will end on October 13, is in honor of Senator Alfred M. Cohen’s seventy-fifth birthday.

The local committee is composed of Gerrard Berman, chairman; Sendor Federbush, honorary chairman; Jules M. Shinedling, Harry Bernstein, Charles H. Roemer, A. Greengold, Nat Bluestein, and Dr. S. J. D. Fendell.

Delegates and alternates to the national convention of the Jewish War Veterans were appointed by the ladies auxiliary of the local veterans post this week. Those appointed were:

Sadie Rich, Clara Goldberg, Anne Cohen, Rae Glazer, Shirley Rubenstein, Fannye Dorfman, Sadie Kurlinsky, Anne Krawitz, Anne Eilenberg, Jeanette Batavia, Ethel Stone, Bessie Wax, Sophie Fox, Rebecca Gruber, Rose Stern, Estelle Litvack, Minnie Cohen, Mae Schwartz, Lillian Schotz, Rose Gruber, Pauline Corn, Sopic Glassman, Helen Lubin, Leach Senak, Ida Peltz, Nora Stein, Rhoda Pearl, Bertha Cohen, Sadie Kulman, Lena Berman, Mollie Arbeit, Lillian Brett, Anna Salzberg, Frances Epstein, Lena Goodman, Rose Zarrow, Jennie Saal, and Etta Goodman.


Edward H. Saltzman, local lawyer, was elected to the presidency of the Y. M. H. A. Booster Club, composed of young business and professional men who are identified with the success of past “Y” membership and maintenance drives.

Others elected to office were: Harry B. Haines, re-elected honorary president; Meyer Music, first vice-president; Benjamin Stave, second vice-president; Jacob Moskow, treasurer; Archie Kurlantzick, re-elected secretary, and Isadore Jaffe, re-elected sergeant-at-arms.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund