Herzl Unit Sends Delegate to Parley
Menu JTA Search

Herzl Unit Sends Delegate to Parley

Download PDF for this date

More than seventy-five German Jewish refugees now in this country will be represented at the thirty-seventh annual convention of the Zionist Organization of America when it opens in Atlantic City Saturday evening. The group, which was established two months ago as the Theodor Herzl Zionist Society, is sending Dr. Sanja Schwabacher, president as its delegate.

Organized through the efforts of Morris Margulies, secretary of the Zionist Organization of America, the Herzl group comprises chiefly of young men and young women with the women constituting at least one-third of its membership.

The officers of the society of German Jewish refugee Zionists are Dr. Sanja Schwabacher, president; Fritz Moses, vice-president; Julius Sichel, treasurer, and Alfred Haas, secretary.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund