Labor Groups Will Welcome British Leader
Menu JTA Search

Labor Groups Will Welcome British Leader

Download PDF for this date

Walter Citrine, secretary of the British Trade Union Congress and notable anti-Nazi leader, will arrive in New York this morning at Grand Central Terminal at 7:45. The English labor leader, arriving from Montreal, will be greeted by a committee of thirty prominent laborites under the chairmanship of Joseph P. Ryan, president of the Central Trade and Labor Council.

Later in the day, at 3:30 in the afternoon, Mr. Citrine will be greeted by Mayor F. H. La-Guardia at an official City Hall reception. Participating in these ceremonies will be the Mayor’s Committee of Labor leaders.

On this committee besides Mr. Ryan are: B. Charney Vladeck, chairman of the Committee of Arrangements that will care for Citrine during his stay in New York; George Meany, president of the New York State Federation of Labor; Charles Hanson, president of the Carpenter’s District Council; David Dubinsky, president of the International Ladies Garment Workers Union; Matthew Woll, vice president of the American Federation of Labor, and Julius Hochman, president of the Joint Board of International Ladies Garment Workers Union.

Others on the committee are Sidney Hillman, president of the Amalgamated Clothing Workers of America; Joseph Schlossberg, secretary-treasurer of the Amalgamated Clothing Workers of America; Abraham Cahan, editor of the Forward; Morris C. Fein-stone, secretary of the United Hebrew Trades; Adolph Held, president of the Amalgamated Bank, and Joseph Weinberg, president of the Workman’s Council.

Still other members of the committee are Abraham Miller, Max Zaritsky, Joseph Baskin, William Kohn, Abraham Berkson, and Isidore Nagler.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund