Zionists Elect Shulman Head of Chicago Unit
Menu JTA Search

Zionists Elect Shulman Head of Chicago Unit

Download PDF for this date

Max Shulman, veteran Zionist leader, was reelected president of the Chicago Zionist Organization at the annual conference held here yesterday at the Sherman Hotel. Other officers reelected to serve with him were William M. Katz, first vice-president; A. Z. Halperin, second vice-president, and John Rissman, treasurer. Joseph Levinson was elected secretary to fill the vacancy left by the resignation of Joel David Wolfsohn, now the executive secretary of the National Power Policy Committee in Washington.

Greetings were extended to the conference in the name of Jewish organizations in the city. Dr. A. E. Abromowitz eulogized two Zionist leaders who died recently, Dr. Victor Jacobson and Oskar Wassermann.

The conference adopted a series of resolutions opposing formation of a legislative council in Palestine; urged Great Britain to increase Jewish immigration to the Holy Land; renewed the pledge to boycott all German-made goods; pledged full support for the American Palestine campaign; and called for an end to factional fights in the Zionist movement.

Another resolution adopted committed the organization to join in the protest against the Palmer House and the Hotel Stevens for renting quarters for the DAWA convention.

The Chicago Zionists also adopted a number of resolutions calculated to strengthen the organization in the city.

The officers were officially installed at a mass meeting addressed by Dr. A. L. Sachar of the University of Illinois and B. Horwich, veteran Zionist leader.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund