Dr. Levin Takes Office As Temple President
Menu JTA Search

Dr. Levin Takes Office As Temple President

Download PDF for this date

Dr. A. L. Levin, professor of gastroenterology at Louisiana State University and newly elected president of Congregation Beth Israel, was inducted into the latter office with impressive ceremonies by Rabbi Leonard C. Mishkin.

William Feldman, who had served the congregation as president for eight years, was chosen honorary president.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund