Dan Frohman Slated to Talk at Convocation
Menu JTA Search

Dan Frohman Slated to Talk at Convocation

Download PDF for this date

Daniel Frohman, dean of the American theater, will deliver the principal address at a convocation of the Jewish Academy of Arts and Sciences, Sunday evening, in the Marcus Loew auditorium of Temple Rodeph Sholom, 7 West Eighty-third street. Four honorary fellows, an honorary member and seven members will be inducted at the meeting, at which Leon Huhner, vice-president of the organization, will preside.

Honorary fellows to be inducted are Mr. Frohman; Professor Franz Boas, noted anthropologist of Columbia University; Dr. H. Pereira Mendes, rabbi-emeritus of the Spanish and Portuguese Synagogue; and Professor Morris Cohen, of the City College of New York philosophy department. The honorary member to be inducted is Franklin Pierce Adams, the F.P.A. of the New York Herald-Tribune.

The new members of the organization will be Dr. Louis I. Newman, rabbi of Temple Rodeph Sholom; Professor Milton Handler of the Columbia University Law School; Morrie Ryskind, co-author of the Pulitzer prize winning play, “Of Thee I Sing”; Dr. Elias Lieberman, poet and principal of Thomas Jefferson High School; Dr. Israel Goldstein, rabbi of Congregation B’nai Jeshurun; Dr. Hyman Alpern of Evander Childs High School, and Robert B. Brodie of Seward Park High School.

The convocation is open to the public.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund