Non-partisan Body to Rule AJC Election
Menu JTA Search

Non-partisan Body to Rule AJC Election

Download PDF for this date

Leading national organizations have been asked to establish a non-partisan board to supervise the elections in April for the creation of an enlarged American Jewish Congress, the administrative committee of the Congress announced yesterday at local headquarters, 122 East Forty-second street.

The board is to formulate the election procedure, set up the necessary machinery and see that the voting is properly carried through. The elections will be the second of their kind in the history of the Jewish community in the United States.

Twenty-five seats on the board are to be held for national organizations, it was explained, and the administration of the AJC as such will not be represented, in pursuance of a decision of its administrative committee.


Among the unaffiliated national organizations invited to send representatives to the board are the American Jewish Committee, B’nai B’rith, the Council of Jewish Women, the Union of American Hebrew Congregations and the Workmen’s Circle.

Other organizations whose cooperation is sought, it was said, include the Zionist Organization of America, Union of Orthodox Jewish Congregations, Mizrachi, Hadassah, the Jewish War Veterans Association, Young Israel, the United Synagogue of America and the Free Sons of Israel.

The April elections will be for 500 delegates to an enlarged American Jewish Congress and in addition of twenty-five per cent of the total for representatives of national Jewish organizations.

Formation of a national campaign committee to direct program work was also announced yesterday. Prof. Horace M. Kallen, Louis Lipsky and Dr. Samuel Margoshes are co-chairmen.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund