7 Ex-presidents of Federation Hold Reunion
Menu JTA Search

7 Ex-presidents of Federation Hold Reunion

Download PDF for this date

Seven men who at various times have been president of the Brooklyn Federation of Jewish Charities will hold a reunion Sunday afternoon during the Federation’s twenty-fifth annual meeting, which will also be its semi-jubilee celebration, at Union Temple, 7 Eastern Parkway, Brooklyn. Judge Joseph M. Proskauer, retiring president of the Federation for the Support of Jewish Philanthropic Societies, will be the principal speaker.

Supreme Court Justice Mitchell May, who is completing his third consecutive term as president of the Brooklyn Federation held that office for four previous terms from 1925 through 1928. He will be one of the seven guests of honor.

The others, and the years during which they held the office, are Nathan S. Jonas, 1910 through 1913; Major Benjamin H. Namm, 1914 through 1916; Edward Lazansky, chief justice of the Appellate Division, 1917 and 1918; City Court Justice Alexander H. Geismar, 1920 and 1921; Aaron William Levy, 1922 through 1924; Nathan D. Shapiro, 1929 and 1930, and Samuel Salzman, 1931.

Dr. Joseph J. Schwartz. executive director of the Federation, announced that a program of music and entertainment will be provided for the annual meeting by a committee headed by Max Abelman, assistant secretary of the Federation.

Entertainers will include Elizabeth Harmon, Orsola Tucciarelli and Leonidas Coroni, singers, and Edna Sheppard, accompanist.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund