Women to Plan United Action on Intolerance
Menu JTA Search

Women to Plan United Action on Intolerance

Download PDF for this date

Representatives of more than 300 Women’s organizations with a membership of more than 250,000 will meet at the Barbizon Plaza Hotel on Wednesday, under the auspices of the women’s division of the American Jewish Congress, for the purpose of discussing possibilities of united action to combat intolerance in this country and to check Nazi activities.

The conference to be known as “Inter-Denominational President’s Day,” is the second meeting of its kind arranged by the women’s division and will become an annual undertaking of the organization.

The meeting has been arranged by a committee of which Mrs. Beth Levin Siegel is the chairman.


Speakers will include Brandon Tynan, president of the Catholic Actors Guild of America, who will discuss “Constructive Enlightenment through the Theatre”; Fannie Hurst, who will discuss the necessity of combatting Nazism in the United States and the forces which should unite behind this battle; and Mrs. Mary Simkhovitch, director of Greenwich House, who will discuss “Tolerance Through Social Service.”

Rebekah Kohut, president of the international Federation of Women’s organizations, will present her views on the influence of the Club Women as a power for social justice.

Group cooperation in order to insure equality rights for minority groups will be discussed by Rabbi Milton Steinberg and Dr. T. Haridas Muzumdar of the World Fellowship of Faiths.

One of the guests of honor will be Marquesa Nena de Belmonte who will describe the gains of the Spanish woman under republican government. Mrs. Stephen S. Wise, president of the women’s division, will preside.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund