Year’s Work to Be Reviewed by Society Here
Menu JTA Search

Year’s Work to Be Reviewed by Society Here

Download PDF for this date

Delegates from all parts of New England, New York State, and the Eastern half of the Dominion of Canada were to gather Saturday night at the Hotel Commodore for the eighty-third annual convention of District No. 1. B’nai B’rith. The convention will continue today and tomorrow.

Reports will be made on the various activities of the society, including a report by Municipal Court Justice Myron Sulzberger on the work done at the Hillel Foundations, centers established by B’nai B’rith at various colleges and universities throughout the country. A report will be made by Louis Fabricant, representing the international order in this district, concerning activities in behalf of the stricken Jews in Germany.

Other reports will deal with the order’s Americanization program and its junior organization, the Aleph Zadek Aleph. Richard E. Gutstadt, of Chicago, director of the B’nai B’rith Anti-Defamation League, will report on the work of that department.


Election of officers for the ensuing year will be held. Charles Horowitz, first vice-president of District Grand Lodge No. 1, is expected to be elected to the presidency.

The convention banquet will be held tonight (Sunday) with an estimated attendance of more than 1,000. Supreme Court Justice Albert Cohen will act as toastmaster.

Among the speakers at the banquet will be Attorney General John J. Bennett and Supreme Court Justice Ferdinand Pecora. Guests of honor will include Harry Stackell, Samuel I. Rosenman, James Garrett Wallace, Max D. Steuer, Mark Eisner, Maurice P. Davidson, Judge Pelham St. George Bissell, Postmaster Albert Goldman, Commissioner Paul Moss, James E. McDonald, Jeremiah T. Mahoney, James E. Watson, and Aldermanic President Bernard S. Deutsch.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund