Congress Delegates, Guests Homeward Bound
Menu JTA Search

Congress Delegates, Guests Homeward Bound

Download PDF for this date

With the 19th World Zionist Congress over, many of the 450 delegates and the 2,000 guests today began preparations to return to their homes in countries throughout the world.

The last session ended early this morning in a spirit of harmony with the delegates singing the Hatikvah, Jewish national anthem.

In addition to elections reported yesterday, the congress named the following: Nahum Sokolow, honorary president of the World Zionist Organization; Dr. Arthur Ruppin, head of a new department for research and economic planning; Dr. Nahum Goldmann, the executive’s representative in Geneva; Louis Lipsky, the executive’s American representative; Leonard Stein, counsel to the executive.

Ruppin and Goldmann will have full voting power in the executive in matters affecting their departments.

Menachem M. Ussishkin was elected president of the Actions Committee, which is the supreme Zionist governing council next to the congress.

Dr. Chaim Weizmann, in accepting the presidency of the World Zionist Organization, asked for cooperation with Great Britain and expressed the hope that opposition to the proposed legislative council for Palestine will be limited to that question alone.

Ussishkin praised the laborites, who were the majority party at the congress, for compromising for the sake of Palestine. Other speakers at the closing session were David Ben-Gurion, newly elected member of the executive, and Georg Halperin.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund