Austrian Jewish Leaders Sent to Concentration Camp in Reich
Menu JTA Search

Austrian Jewish Leaders Sent to Concentration Camp in Reich

Download PDF for this date

Two prominent Jewish leaders, held by the secret police since Austro-German Anschluss, have been transferred to the concentration camp at Dachau, Germany, according to reliable information obtained here today. They are Dr. Desider Friedmann, president of the Vienna Jewish Community, and Jacob Ehrlich, who until annexation of Austria was the only Jewish councillor in the Vienna municipality.

According to an unconfirmed report a third Jewish leader, Robert Stricker, Zionist publisher, was also transferred to Dachau. Transfer of the Jewish prisoners marks the first time Austrians have been placed in a concentration camp in Germany.

It was learned today that Dr. Siegfried Kantor, newly-appointed co-head of the Austrian Zionist Organization, international legal authority and former president of the Vienna Lawyers’ Chamber, has been arrested.

The Jewish Community here is heartened by the small but extremely welcome influx of money from abroad. It is believed that the sum is sufficient to guarantee continuous operation of soup kitchens, homes for the aged and hospitals at least for a few weeks, when it is hoped that community funds, now tied up by the authorities, will again be available and contact established with Jewish relief organizations in Germany.

The Voelkischer Beobachter attacks The Times of London for stating that the drafting of Jews for street cleaning is reminiscent of eighteenth century cruelty. “If making people work is cruel, what shall be said of England’s methods during the Opium War in the middle of the last century and her bombing of Arab homes in Palestine?” the Nazi organ declares.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund