Menu JTA Search

First Jewish Woman Named to South African Parliament; Hertzog Party Leads

The first Jewish woman to hold a seat in the South African Parliament, Bertha Solomon, lawyer and social worker, was elected yesterday. She is a provincial councillor. Other Jews returned in yesterday’s general election are Morris Alexander of Cape Town, Albert Friedlander of Cape Town, Morris Kentridge of Johannesburg and Dr. Henry Gluckman of Johannesburg, all of the United Fusion Party. Abraham Goldberg of Durban was the only Jewish member elected by the Dominion Party.

The United Party of Prime Minister J.B.M. Hertzog held a wide lead today over all its opponents in the election with the count in the urban districts completed and with the rural returns just beginning to come in. The urban centers gave the United Party 51 seats; the Nationalists, 0; the Dominion Party, 6; Labor, 3; Socialist, 1; Independents, 0. First rural returns gave the United Party three more seats raising its total to 54, and left the standing of the others unchanged.