Menu JTA Search

Hebrew Culture Organization Seeks $100,000 Fund

A $100,000 campaign for establishment of a Hebrew culture fund in America was announced today at the closing session of the 19th annual convention of the Histadruth Ivrith, organization for Hebrew culture in America. Officers of the fund are Dr. Solomon Goldman, honorary president, and A.K. Epstein, president, both of Chicago.

Officers of the organization were elected as follows: A.H. Friedland, Cleveland, president; Abraham Goldberg, New York, and Dr. Goldman, honorary presidents; Menachem Ribalow, Dr. M.Z. Levinson, Rabbi S.K. Nirsky and S. Fishman, vice-presidents, and Dr. S. Bernstein, secretary. Resolutions of encouragement to the World Zionist Executive and Palestine Jewry were adopted. One resolution asked the Jewish National Assembly of Palestine to institute daily Bible reading “as a source of strength in these times of stress.”