Menu JTA Search

Lithuania Now Issuing Passports in Wilno District

Lithuanian authorities have commenced issuance of Lithuanian passports in Wilno, city which was occupied by Soviet Russia and then ceded to Lithuania.

The Government considers as Lithuanians all those who were Lithuanian citizens on July 20, 1920, and resided in Wilno on Oct. 27 of this year, and also natives of the city. Those who took up residence in Wilno while it was part of Poland are considered as foreigners and will be permitted to remain in Lithuania under regulations governing the rights of foreigners.