Outstanding Americans Commemorate Bill of Rights Under Swope’s Chairmanship
Menu JTA Search

Outstanding Americans Commemorate Bill of Rights Under Swope’s Chairmanship

Download PDF for this date

The establishment of the four freedoms-religion, speech, press, and assembly – as the cornerstone of American democracy is commemorated in a book published today by the Bill of Rights Sesqui-Centennial Committee of which Herbert Bayard Swope is National Chairman and President Roosevelt is Honorary Chairman.

Fifty-nine outstanding Americans, including Secretary of State Cordell Hull, Vice-President Henry A. Wallace, Mrs. Eleanor Roosevelt and Associate Justice Felix Frankfurter of the U.S. Supreme Court, have contributed chapters for this book which carries the title “Our Bill of Rights: What It Means To Me.” The contributors stress the significance of reaffirming the Bill of Rights today, not only for the United States, but to give new hope to oppressed peoples abroad.

Mr. Swope writes the forward in which he says: “To help all of us to realize the high privilege we have of living under the Bill of Rights, the thoughts contained herein were put in words by men and women who believe the fires of Freedom must always burn brightly and sometimes fiercely. Now is one of those times.”

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund