Menu JTA Search

Manhattan Elects 28 Delegates to American Jewish Conference; Unknown Heads List

The American Jewish Conference today announced that 28 delegates to the Conference have been elected from Manhattan, headed by Rabbi Bernard Bergman, representing the Yeshiva Mesifta Rabbi Solomon Kluger, who received the largest number of votes. In second place was Dr. Stephen S. Wise. The number of votes received by Rabbi Bergman came as a surprise since he is not well known in Jewish circles here.

The delegates elected, in the order of votes received, are as follows: Rabbi Bergman, Dr. Wise, Dr. Israel Goldstein, Louis Lipsky, Dr. Joseph Tennenbaum, Mrs. Joseph Hammerman, Judge Nathan D. Perlman, Dr. Samuel Margoshes, Benjamin Winter, Mrs. Moses Epstein, Louis Fabricant, Herbert S. Sussman, Harry M. Wessel, Haim Greenberg, Carl Sherman, Jacob Fishman, Mrs. Stephen S. Wise, Herman Z. Quittman, Rabbi Harold J. Mashioff, Herman Hoffman, Louis Segal, Dr. Mordecai M. Kaplan, Isaac Hamlin, David Wertheim, Herman Stern, Judge Morris Rothenberg, Rabbi Jacob Hoffman and Teddy Cohen.