Menu JTA Search

Six Yiddish and Hebrew Writers Receive Literary Awards for Best Works of Past Year

Three Yiddish and three Hebrew writers have been awarded the Louis Lamed Fund annual prize of $250 each, for the best literary works of the year, it was announced here today. The Fund annually awards $1,500 for the best works that appeared during the year in the two languages.

The three Yiddish winners are: Joseph Apatashu who was given the prize for his novel “When Poland Fell;” H. Yialty of Uruguay, for his novel “Father and Son” and Aron Zeitlin, for a volume of poems. The three Hebrew writers are: Harry Sackler who won the prize for his “Book of Plays; ” A. Epstein, for a collection of critical works “From Near and Far;” and Dr. S. Feigin, for his volume of essays “Secrets of the Past.” The jury was composed of Dr. Israel Efros, Menchaem Boraisho, Dr. Samuel Margoshes, David Pinsky and Menahem Ribalov.