Menu JTA Search

American Jewish Conference Elects New Co-chairmen; Names Five Permanent Committees

The American Jewish Conference announced today that Dr. Israel Goldstein, Henry Monsky and Louis Lipsky have been chosen co-chairmen of the organization’s interim committee. An executive committee of seventeen was also elected to replace the administrative committee.

At the same time, the conference established five permanent committees; Rescue, Post-war, Palestine, Jewish Representation and Finance. At its first meeting since the second session held in Pittsburgh last month, the conference was addressed by Professor Seling Brodetsky, Chairman of the Board of Deputies of British Jews, who gave a brief review of the present Jewish situation in England and the functions of the Board. He expressed the hope that the Jewish representatives of all countries would act together to establish freedom and equal rights of Jews wherever necessary.