Silver Recalled to Leadership of American Zionist Emergency Council; Differences Resolved
Menu JTA Search

Silver Recalled to Leadership of American Zionist Emergency Council; Differences Resolved

Download PDF for this date

The seven-months-old split in the American Zionist movement ended at 1 a.m. this morning when a meeting of the Zionist Emergency council voted unanimously to recall Dr. Abba Hillel Silver to leadership of that body.

Under the council’s decision, which came after several months of protracted negotiations between Dr. Silver’s supporters and adherents of the policies of Dr. Stephen S. Wise, Dr. Silver and Dr. Wise will be joint chairman of the emergency council, while Dr. Silver will be sole chairman of the council’s executive committee which akes and executes policy.

The executive committee will also have three vice-chairmen – one each from the (##)ale Zion, the Zionist Organization of America and the Mizrachi: Hayim Greenberg, Herman Shulman and Leon Gallman, respectively. A representative of the Hadassah – Mrs. Rose Halprin – will remain as treasurer or become a fourth vice-chairman depending on which post the women’s Zionist organization chooses. The committee will also be enlarged by the addition of Louis Lipsky and Emanuel Neumann as members at large.

A new top body, called the Board of Officers, was created to act in carrying out policy and planning strategy between meetings of the executive committee. It will consist of Drs. Silver and Wise, the three vice-chairmen of the executive committee and the treasurer, with Dr. Silver as chairman of the board.


It was also agreed that, in order that Dr. Silver may have co-workers on the council in whom he has full confidence, two members of the ZOA representation on the body must be persons recommended by Dr. Silver. A recommendation to this effect will be made to the ZOA by its acting president, Judge Louis E. Levinthal, with the approval of Judge Morris Rothenberg and Mr. Lipsky, who are members of the ZOA peace committee.

Members of the executive of the Jewish Agency in the United States will be invited to participate without vote in the meetings of the council, of the executive committee, and of the Board of Officers, under the agreement.

acting on the basis of authority vested in him as chairman of the executive committee, Dr. Silver announced immediately after conclusion of the meeting that Harry (##). Shapiro had been re-appointed executive director of the council, and Harold P. Hanson, Director of Press and Information.

It was disclosed that the delegation of the council which is leaving shortly for London to attend the world Zionist conference, opening there on July 31, will be leaded by Dr. Silver.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund