Menu JTA Search

Committee to Assist in Rehabilitation of Displaced Intellectuals Established Here

The formation of an International Committee for Assistance to Professionals, Artists and Scholars was announced here today. The purpose of the organizationis to assist in rehabilitating displaced scholars, professionals and artists now in Europe and to conserve their potential creative powers.

Physicians and other scientists will be provided with instruments and laboratery naterial, books and periodicals pertaining to their professions; musicians, artists and writers will get instruments, materials, appropriate literature and opportunities for contact with the achievements of their confreres in free lands. One of the incidental objects of the committee is to provide for periods of rest for such victims of concentration camps as need some leisure before returning to their work.

The American committee consists of Professor Max Ascoli, Professor Reland Beinton, Professor Henry P. Van Dusen, Ralph Bernstein, Harry Binsse, Professor Albert Palestein, Professor Horace L. Friess, Mrs. Naomi Finkelstein, Dean Christian Gauss, Professor Alvin Johnson, Dr. Paul Oskar Kristeller, Mrs. William P. Ladd, Dr. David M. Levy, Dr. Li You Ying, Professor Robert Moiver, David Pinski, Dr. David de Sola Pool, Pris Pregel, Lessing Rosenwald, Dr. George N. Shuster, B.W. Huebsch, chairman, and Filde Frankel, secretary.