Menu JTA Search

Twenty Nations Given Representation on Uno Special Committee on Refugees and Dp’s

Twenty nations will be represented on the Social and Economic Council’s special committee on refugees and displaced persons instead of the fifteen originally intended, the Council decided at a session last night.

Ambassador John Winant proposed the addition of Australia and Columbia, while the Ukrainian delegation suggested themselves and the Bielo-Russians, and the Soviet Union, supported by Yugoslavia, asked that Czechoslovakia be given representation on the committee. In addition to the five new members, the following states are represented on the committee: Belgium, Brazil, Britain, Canada, China, Dominican Republic, France, Lebanon, Netherlands, New Zealand, Peru, Poland, Soviet Union, United States and Yugoslavia.

A Commission on Human Rights was also established by the Council, and a group of nine experts were chosen to form the basis of this body. The names of the experts, however, were not made public.