Menu JTA Search

New Jersey Becomes Fifth State to Outlaw Ku Klux Klan; Notes Link with Nazi Bund

New Jersey today became the fifth state to ban the activities of the Ku Klux Klan when it outlawed the terroristic organization by order of the Supreme Court. The other states are Kentucky, California, Georgia and New York.

The action was sed on a report by Attorney-General Walter D. Van Riper that the Klan is unlawful, arouses racial and religious prejudices, and held a joint meeting with the German-American Bund in 1940.