Menu JTA Search

Division of Jerusalem into Three Zones Recommended; Arab, Jewish Mayors to Alternate

Division of Jerusalem into three separate zones is suggested in a report prepared by Chief Justice Sir William Fitzgerald, who was named last year to draft a recommendation for solution of the impasse resulting from Arab refusal to rotate the Jerusalem mayoralty with Jews.

Under the Fitzgerald plan, which will be made public next week, there will be a Jewish zone, an Arab zone and the Old City, which will be under the administration of representatives of all three faiths, headed by a government official. The Jewish and Arab zones will be administered by elected assemblies, from which a joint municipal authority will be selected to deal with matters affecting the city as a whole. The mayoralty will be rotated between Jews and Arabs.