Menu JTA Search

Jewish Theological Seminary Confers Degrees on Baerwald, Proskauer, Levinthal, Ben Zvi

Honorary degrees of Doctor of Humane Letters were conferred upon Paul Baerwald, one of the founders of the Joint Distribution Committee, Judge Joseph M. Proskauer, president of the American Jewish Committee, Judge Louis E. Levinthal, former adviser on Jewish affairs to the U.S. command in Europe, and (in absentia) Isaac Ben Zvi, president of the Jewish National Council in Israel, at commencement exercises held today at the Jewish Theological Seminary of America.

Dr. Solomon Grayzel, editor of the Jewish Publication Society, was awarded an honorary degree of Doctor of Hebrew Letters. Twenty graduates of the Seminary’s rabbinical school were ordained, making the largest class ever graduated since the institution was established in 1887. Five rabbis from various parts of the U.S. were granted Doctorates in Hebrew Literature.