Menu JTA Search

Lamed Fund Prizes for Best 1947 Books in Yiddish and Hebrew Won by Four Authors

Four prizes of $400 each for the best books in Yiddish and Hebrew published in the United State during 1947 were won today by two Yiddish and two Hebrew writers. The prizes are awarded annually by the Louis Lamed Fund which seeks to promote literary standards among Jews in the United States. The jury was composed of H. Leivick, Kadie Molodowsky and Dr. Aaron Steinberg.

The Yiddish winners are: Aaron Glenz-Leyeless, for his book of poems, “A Jew at Sea,” and David Opatoshu, for a book of short stories, “Between Sea and Desert.” The Hebrew winners are: Ephraim Lisitzky, for his volume, “Man on Earth,” and Isaiah Rabinowitz for his book of essays, “Literature During the Crisis of a Generation.”