Menu JTA Search

Prof. Brodetsky Elected President of Hebrew University; Succeeds Dr. Weizmann

Professor Selig Brodetsky was today elected president of the Hebrew University of Jerusalem for the next five years by the University’s board of governors. He succeeds Dr. Chaim Weizmann who resigned after becoming president of Israel.

Prof. Brodetsky will also be the chairman of the executive council of the University, succeeding Sir Leon Simon. Dr. David Werner Senator was elected executive vice-president of the council. Dr. weizmann’s resignation was accepted by the board with regret. He was elected honorary president.

At its closing session today, the board unanimously voted to present the Solomon Bublick Award to Premier David Bon Gurion. The award is given to any person, Jew or non-Jew, who made the most significant contribution to Palestine’s progress and development within the last two years.”

The governors ratified the agreement between the Hebrew University and Hadassah for the establishment of the medical school in Jerusalem. They also approved the establishment of a chair for Yiddish Language and Literature. Chaim Greenberg of New York assured the board that the funds required for the establishment and maintenance of the Yiddish chair will be provided by friends of the University in the United States.