Menu JTA Search

Louis Lipsky Elected President of American Zionist Council; Replaces Interim Praesidium

The unanimous election of Louis Lipsky, veteran Zionist leader in the U.S., as chairman of the American Zionist Council was announced here today. Mr. Lipsky will replace a four-man praesidium which took charge of the Council’s affairs on an interim basis following the resignation in June of Dr. Abba Hillel Silver.

Elected to serve with Mr. Lipsky were Mrs. Judith Epstein, formerly president of Hadassah, as vice-chairman; Rabbi Max Kirshblum, executive vice-president of the Mizrachi Organization of America, secretary; and Pinchas Cruso, of the Labor Zionist Organization of America, treasurer. Rabbi Jerome Unger, who has served until now as associate director of the Z.O.A., was named executive director of the Council.