Menu JTA Search

Jewish Leaders from All Zones of Germany Name Central Representative Body

For the first time since the organization of the Central Council of the Jews of Germany last July, representatives of provincial and zonal communal bodies met here to decide the composition of the Council.

The members of the body are: American zone, Dr. Philip Auerbach, and P. Piekacz; British zone, Norbert Wollheim; Berlin and Eastern zone, Heinz Galinski and Juliua Meyer; French zone, Leonard Beer. Dr. H.G. Van Dam was named secretary general and Dr. L. Livneh, Israel consul, was elected honorary chairman.