Menu JTA Search

Twenty Groups Register Lists of Candidates for Israel’s Parliamentary Elections

Twenty groups registered their lists of candidates for the forthcoming parliamentary elections which are scheduled to take place on July 30, it was announced here last night. The lists have all been approved by the Supreme Election Committee. Each list is signed by 750 supporters.

Last minute efforts to establish a unified bloc of all religious parties failed. The 20 lists include: the pro-government Mapai Party; the pro-Soviet Mapam Party; the General Zionists: the Mizrachi laborite Party; the Herut Party; Sephardim; the Progressive Party; the Communist Party; the Mizrachi Orthodox Party; the Agudas Israel; the Agudah Laborite Party.

Other groups whose lists of candidates were recognized are: the Yeshurun groups; the Emunei Israel; Knesset Israel Haolamith; the Arab Agricultural and Development group; the Democratic Arab Party; the Arab Progressive and Labor Party; the Peace Party; the Yemenite Union; the Union of New Immigrants.