Menu JTA Search

U.N. Body Elects 15-nation Refugee Advisory Committee

The United Nations Economic and Social Council has elected the 15-nation advisory committee to the U.N. High Commissioner for Refugees. The State of Israel is one of the members. The committee will be composed of Australia, Austria, Belgium, Brazil, Denmark, France, Switzerland, Turkey, the United Kingdom, the United States and Venezuela, each of whom received 13 votes; the Federal German Republic, Israel and Italy, each of whom received 12 votes, and the Vatican State, which received 10 votes.