Jewish Agency Executive Announces Distribution of Portfolios
Menu JTA Search

Jewish Agency Executive Announces Distribution of Portfolios

Download PDF for this date

The Jewish Agency for Israel has announced the distribution of portfolios among the members of its executive in Jerusalem.

Berl Locker, who shares the chairmanship of the executive with Dr. Nahum Goldmann of New York, will also be head of the Public Relations Department. Levi Eshkol was named treasurer and head of the Agricultural and Settlement Department. His deputy treasurer, Moshe Kol, will also head the Youth Immigration Department.

George Josephthal and Y. Braginsky were named joint heads of the Absorption Department, while Hayim Greenberg of New York will be in charge of education outside Israel and Rabbi Zeev Gold will be responsible for religious education in countries outside Israel. Eliahu Dobkin will head the Youth and Pioneering Department as well as the Administrative Section; Zvi Herman will be in charge of the Organization Department; Yitzhak Raphael will be in charge of the Immigration Department; and Dr. Emanuel Neumann of New York will head the Economic Department.

Mr. Locker and Dr. Goldmann were also named joint presidents of the Keren Hayesod, the Agency’s fiscal arm, and Dobkin, Herman and Dr. A. Hantke were named to the Keren Hayesod’s executive committee. That organization’s 12-member board of directors will be named at a later date.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund