International Convention of Jewish Women Elects New Leaders
Menu JTA Search

International Convention of Jewish Women Elects New Leaders

Download PDF for this date

The triennial convention of the International Council of Jewish women today elected Mrs. Joseph Willen of New York president. She succeeds Mrs. Moise Cahn of New Orleans, who was named honorary vice-president. Mrs. Joseph Welt of Detroit is the honorary president.

Other American women named to leadership were Mrs. Ronald Brown, secretary, and Mrs. Edgar Menderson of Cincinnati, treasurer. Dr. Fanny Reading of Australia, Mrs. Frank Samuel of Britain, Mrs. S.R. Sloman of South Africa, Mrs. Benjamin Robinson of Canada and Mrs. V. Dreyfus de Gunzberg of Switzerland were named vice presidents.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund