Menu JTA Search

Germany to Pay Civil Service Pensions to Refugees in Small Lands

Former German civil servants ousted by the Nazi regime for racial, religious or political reasons, and who did not heretofore receive pensions because they reside in small countries which do not have diplomatic relations with the Federal Republic, have now been ruled eligible.

The countries just added to the list are a number of Arab states, Ceylon, Ethiopia, Haiti, Iceland, Liberia and New Zealand. In general, only states maintaining full diplomatic relations with Bonn are recognized. Exceptions are Austria, Guatemala, Honduras and Israel.