Menu JTA Search

Dr. A. L. Sachar Awarded B’nai B’rith Medal for Humanitarianism

Dr Abram L. Sachar was awarded the B’nai B’rith President’s Medal for Humanitarianism at the 31st annual meeting of the B’nai B’rith Hillel Foundations Commission which was held at Camp B’nai B’rith here. Philip Klutznick, world president of B’nai B’rith, presented the medal to Dr. Sachar on his retirement as chairman of the Commission. Dr. Sachar is president of Brandeis University at Waltham, Mass.

As its new chairman, the B’nai B’rith Hillel Commission elected Dr. William Haber, Professor of Economics at the University of Michigan. The other officers elected are Joseph L. Paradise, vice chairman, William Rabkin, treasurer. Maurice Bisgyer, secretary. Rabbi Arthur J. Lelyveld was re-named national Hillel director of the B’nai B’rith Hillel Foundations.