Weizmann Award Conferred in New York on 18 Prominent Americans
Menu JTA Search

Weizmann Award Conferred in New York on 18 Prominent Americans

Download PDF for this date

The Weizmann Award of Merit was conferred here today on 18 prominent Americans in recognition of distinguished services during the past year for the Weizmann Institute of Science at Rehovoth, Israel. The award is a bronze replica of the bust of Dr. Chaim Weizmann which stands in the Weizmann Memorial Shrine at Rehovoth.

Presentation of the awards was made by Dewey D. Stone, chairman of the board of the American Committee for the Weizmann Institute. Abraham Feinberg, president of the Committee, announced that Pierre Mendes-France, former Premier of France, will be the guest of honor and main speaker at the annual dinner of the Committee to be held at the Waldorf-Astoria hotel on December 1. Proceeds of the $250 per person annual dinner are expected to reach $500,000, Mr. Feinberg said, and will go to the support of the important research programs in the chemical, biological and physical sciences of the Weizmann Institute.

The following received the awards; Peter G. Berdeshevsky, New York City; M.H. Blinken New York City; Joseph Cherner, Arlington , Va.; Leon Fromer, New York City; Harry Ginsberg, New York City; Lester N. Grossman, New York City; Abraham S. Kay. Mr. Rainier, Md.; Albert A. List, New York City; M. Eli Livingstone, Boston Mass; Joseph Meyerhoff, Baltimore, Md.; Edward D. Mitchell, Los Angeles, Calif; Samuel Rothberg, Peoria, III.; Dr. Abram L. Sachar, Waltham, Mass.; George Sagan, New York City; Irving Sarnoff, New York City; Nate S. Shapero, Detroit, Mich.; Henry Temes, Woodridge, N.Y.; Samuel Zemurray, New Orleans, La.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund