Danish-israel Friendship Unit Launched by Leading Figures
Menu JTA Search

Danish-israel Friendship Unit Launched by Leading Figures

Download PDF for this date

With some of Denmark’s most distinguished men participating, an impressive meeting held last night at Copenhagen University voted unanimously to launch a Danish-Israel Friendship Society. As chairman of the society, the meeting elected former Minister of Education Fleming Hvidberg, who initiated the call for the formation of the new society.

Among nationally and internationally prominent men chosen for the board of the society are: Prof. Niels Bohr, Nobel prize winning physicist, prominent for his contributions to nuclear science; Dr. Johannes Frandsen, director of the government Health Service; Bishop Fuglsang Damgaard, head of the Evangelical Lutheran Church, and Prof. Stephan Hurwith, State Comptroller.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund