All Jewish Groups in U.S. Active on Israel’s Anniversary Committee
Menu JTA Search

All Jewish Groups in U.S. Active on Israel’s Anniversary Committee

Download PDF for this date

Every facet of organized Jewish community life in the United States is represented in the group of leaders who have agreed to serve as vice-chairmen of the American Committee for Israel’s Tenth Anniversary Celebration which was formed here yesterday, it was announced today. These include:

Herbert R. Abeles, president, Council of Jewish Federations and Welfare Funds; Dr. Theodore L. Adams, president, Synagogue Council of America; Dr. Philip S. Bernstein, chairman, American Zionist Committee for Public Affairs; Mrs. Moise S. Cahn, president, National Council of Jewish Women; Benjamin H. Chasin, national commander, Jewish War Veterans, U.S.A. ; Rabbi Aaron H. Blumenthal, president. Rabbinical Assembly of America; Dr. Maurice N. Eisendrath, president, Union of American Hebrew Congregations; Irving Engel, president, American Jewish Committee; Moses I. Feuerstein, president, Union of Orthodox Jewish Congregations of America.

Also, Dr. Miriam Freund, president, Hadassah; Adolph Held, chairman, Jewish Labor Committee; Philip Klutznick, president, B’nai B’rith; Rabbi Irving Miller, chairman, American Zionist Council; Charles Rosengarten, president. United Synagogue of America; Rabbi Jacob Philip Rudin, acting president, Central Conference of American Rabbis; Rabbi Solomon J. Starfmann, president, Rabbinical Council of America; Rabbi Isaac Stoliman, president, Mizrachi Hapoel Hamizrachi; Mrs. Chaya Surchin, representing the Labor Zionists; David Ullman, chairman, National Community Relations Advisory Council.

Honorary vice chairmen of the Committee include Morris W. Berinstein, president of the UJA; Abraham Feinberg, president of the Israel Bond Organization; Mrs. Samuel W. Halprin, acting chairman of the Jewish Agency; Dr. Emanuel Neumann, president of the ZOA; Dr. Dewey D. Stone, chairman of the United Israel Appeal.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund