Menu JTA Search

18 American Organizations Arrange Pilgrimages to Israel

Eighteen national Jewish organizations have taken the leadership in arranging the first of what is expected to be a series of nation-wide pilgrimages to Israel during the festival year 1958-1959, it was made known today by the American Committee for Israel’s Tenth Anniversary Celebration.

These include: The American Association for Jewish Education; the American Jewish Congress; B’nai B’rith; National Council of Jewish Women; Hadassah, Histadrut; Mizrachi Hapoel Hamizrachi; Mizrachi Women’s Organization; Women’s American ORT; National Federation of Hebrew Teachers and Principals; Pioneer Women, State of Israel Bonds; Union of American Hebrew Congregations; United Jewish Appeal; United Synagogue of America; Women’s League for Israel; Young Israel; Zionist Organization of America.

The formation of a committee on community organization, and a committee on tourism and pilgrimages to Israel, to advance programs for the celebration of the 10th anniversary of Israel by Americans, was announced today by Senator Herbert H. Lehman and Dr. Israel Goldstein, general chairman and chairman of the American Committee for Israel’s 10th Anniversary Celebration. Rabbi Irving Miller of New York has accepted the chairmanship of the committee on community organization, and Lawrence G. Laskey of Boston, the chairmanship of the committee of tourism and pilgrimages.

The celebration will help to guide local communities in the establishment of representative groups, under whose auspices appropriate observances of the 10th anniversary will take place in 1958 in the period of April to December.