Truman Receives Brotherhood Award of Jewish Theological Seminary
Menu JTA Search

Truman Receives Brotherhood Award of Jewish Theological Seminary

Download PDF for this date

Former President Harry S. Truman received tonight the annual award of the Universal Brotherhood Movement of the Jewish Theological Seminary of America. The presentation, made by Dr. Louis Finkelstein, Chancellor of the Seminary, took place at the movement’s eighth annual dinner.

Organized in 1951 to present and work for a creative concept of human brotherhood, the movement annually awards the individuals “whose lives and works have epitomized and advanced the principles of universal human brotherhood.” Also honored tonight and, together with Mr. Truman, installed as fellows of the movement were: Murray Bellow, industrialist; A. David Benjamin, State Supreme Court Justice, and Charles B. McCabe, publisher of the New York Daily Mirror.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund