Four Prominent American Nuclear Scientists Leave for Israel
Menu JTA Search

Four Prominent American Nuclear Scientists Leave for Israel

Download PDF for this date

Four prominent American nuclear scientists left this week-end for Israel to attend the dedication on May 20th of the Institute of Nuclear Science, the newest and largest unit of the Weizmann Institute of Science in Rehovoth.

The four are: Dr. Harold C. Urey, Joseph E. Mayer, Maria G. Mayer of the University of Chicago, and Dr. S. Chandrasenkhar of Yerkes Observatory. They will be joined in Israel by Prof. Niels D. Bohr of the Copenhagen Institute for Theoretical Physics, Dr. J. Robert Oppenheimer of the Princeton Institute for Advanced Study, and Dr. Felix Bloch of Stanford University, who will participate in a nuclear symposium to be held in the newly opened Nuclear Science building under the auspices of the Weizmann Institute.

Dewey D. Stone of Brockton, Mass., chairman of the board of governors of the Weiz-mann Institute of Science, presided at the farewell lunch on for the four scientists given at the Plaza Hotel here. He said that “the opening of the new Institute is one of the most significant events on the threshold of Israel’s second decade and may well usher in a new era in the development of atomic energy for peaceful purposes.”

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund