Menu JTA Search

Brandeis University Presents 1959 Awards for Artistic Achievements

Medals for outstanding artistic achievements in 1959 were presented here yesterday by the Brandeis University at a ceremony at the Sheraton-East Hotel, attended by Dr. Abram L. Sachar, university president, and David Woodlinger, director of the United States Fulbright Program.

The awards were given to Ernest Bloch in music; Mrs. Hilda Doolitle Adlington, poetry; Edwin Dickinson, painting, and George Kelly, the theatre. Grants of $1, 500 each were awarded to four younger artists who have demonstrated “promising potential” in the same fields. These grants went to Seymour Shifrin, music; Hayden Carruth, poetry; Theodoros Stamos, painting, and Richard Hayes, drama criticism.