Menu JTA Search

Five Yeddish and Hebrew Authors Receive 1958 Lamed Aleph Prize

Five Yiddish and Hebrew authors were the recipients today of the 1958 Lamed Aleph prizes given annually for the best books that appeared in Yiddish and Hebrew during the year. The $500 prizes went to Meir Stiker, for a book of Yiddish poetry; Benjamin Resler and Chayim Brandwein, two authors of Hebrew novels. The fourth prize of $500, for Yiddish prose, was divided between Itzhak Mezker and Abraham Zack, two Yiddish novelists.